Here are some useful image tools on the web. It's not exhaustive and there are better fee paying programmes available, but for free, these arent bad at all. There are some tools here that are used for as masking tech- I have included them for the reason that if you know they exists and how they work, you will spot and recognise them if you come across them in your work.

 

There are 3 main types of image searches to carry out when looking at an image

 

1. Looking for like or similar images

 

Using Google images will search for like or similar things in its data base. Upload the image to Google and see what returns. Most searches still require a visual check to find the same or similar, but it is very effective.

Do not upload sensitive images onto the site. You are effectively sending the image to google. De sensitise it or crop. 

 

Google images

 

 

2. Look for the same image on the internet. 

 

Tineye will look for the same image ( or at least 80% same ) so your results are the same image elsewhere on the web or the original it was taken from should there be 70-80% remaining of the original image. Do not upload sensitive images onto the site. You are effectively sending the image to tineye. De sensitise it or crop. 

 

TinEye Reverse Image Search

 

3. Exif Data 

 
This is the embedded meta data stored in the image when taken on a digital device. It will range from basic data ( probably an original or dated digital camera), to that taken on a smart phone. This can include location maps and data . Exif explanation hereThere are many sites that extract this. Have a try. there are 2 types of programme, web based and browser/ local based. The local ones are the safest as you perform the extraction within your own computer.
Here is a local one ( where a download is required)
 
Jeffreys Exif Viewer
 
and here are some web based ones
 
EXIF VIEWER
 
Image data extractor
 

metapicz.com - exif viewer

 
www.photo-freeware.net -   EXIF Data tools 
 
www.photome.de -  metadata of image files
 
www.tawbaware.com - basic exif viewer
 
www.geosetter.de -  exif tool
 
www.photo-freeware.net -   EXIF Data tools 
 
www.bartdart.com - encode text messages into bitmap images
 
www.photome.de -  metadata of image files

Baidu Images http://image.baidu.com

Berify https://berify.com

Betaface https://www.betafaceapi.com

Bing Images http://www.bing.com/images

Camera Trace http://www.cameratrace.com/trace

CamFind https://camfindapp.com

CC Search https://search.creativecommons.org

Current Location https://current-location.com

DownloadGram https://downloadgram.com

Explore Places http://places2.csail.mit.edu/explore.html

facesearch http://www.facesaerch.com

FindFace https://findface.ru

Flickr https://secure.flickr.com

Flickr Hive Mind http://flickrhivemind.net

Flickr Map https://www.flickr.com/map

Fotki http://www.fotki.com

Geograph https://www.geograph.org

Google Images https://images.google.com

Gramfeed

Image Net

http://www.gramfeed.com

http://image-net.org

Image Raider https://www.imageidentify.com

Imgur https://imgur.com

KarmaDecay http://karmadecay.com

Lakako https://www.lakako.com

Loc.alize.us https://loc.alize.us

Lycos Images http://search.lycos.com/images

MyPicsMap http://www.mypicsmap.com

Photo Map http://photo-map.ru

PhotoTracker http://phototracker.ru

Picquery https://www.picquery.com

Picsearch http://www.picsearch.com

PicTriev http://www.pictriev.com

PimEyePlaces

https://pimeyes.com/en

http://places2.csail.mit.edu

Reverse GIF https://ezgif.com/reverse

Reverse Image Search http://www.reverse-image-search.org

Reverse Image Search http://www.reverse-image-search.com

Reverse Image Search

Revimg

https://inteltechniques.com/osint/menu.reverse.image.html

http://www.revimg.com

RootAbout http://rootabout.com

SauceNAO https://saucenao.com

https://smallseotools.com/reverse-image-search

Smugmug https://www.smugmug.com/search

Social Catfish Reverse Image

https://socialcatfish.com/reverse-image-search

Startpage: Images https://www.startpage.com/eng/pics.html

StolenCameraFinder http://www.stolencamerafinder.co.uk

TinyEye https://tineye.com

Twitter Image Search https://twitter.com/search?q=%3Csearchterm

%3E&src=typd&vertical=default&f=images

View Image https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/viewimage/

jpcmhcelnjdmblfmjabdeclccemkghjk ||

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/viewimage/

Who Stole My Pictures? https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/whostole-

my-pictures

Websta http://websta.me

Wolfram Language: The

Identification Project

https://www.imageidentify.com

Worldcam http://www.worldc.am

Yahoo Image Search https://images.search.yahoo.com

Yandex Images https://www.yandex.com/images

 
Video and screen Capture
 
www.pixelmetrics.com -  tool for capturing anything on your screen
 
www.screenpresso.com - free video screen capture  
 
www.wisdom-soft.com - r video screen capture
 
www.sourceforge.net - hide a file in a picture with hip2.1
Webcam sites
see.cam 
http://insecam.org 
http://camhacker.com 
http://gobefore.me/cams/ 
http://openstreetcam.org 
http://pictimo.com 
http://shodan.io
http://thingful.net

AnalogExif https://sourceforge.net/projects/analogexif

BetaFaceAPI https://www.betafaceapi.com/demo.html

CameraSummary https://camerasummary.com

Diffchecker https://www.diffchecker.com/image-diff

exifdata http://exifdata.com

Exifer https://www.thexifer.net

ExifPro http://www.exifpro.com

Exif Search http://www.exif-search.com

exiftool https://sourceforge.net/projects/exiftool

ExifTool by Phil Harvey http://www.sno.phy.queensu.ca/~phil/exiftool

Exif Viewer https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/exifviewer/

nafpfdcmppffipmhcpkbplhkoiekndck?hl=en

Exif Viewer https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/exif-viewer

Extract Metadata https://www.extractmetadata.com

Fake Image Detector https://play.google.com/store/apps/

details?id=fake_image_detector.coder.genuine.com.fakeim

agedetector&hl=en

FastPreview https://tn123.org/fastpreview

Find Exif http://www.findexif.com

Forensically https://29a.ch/photo-forensics/#level-sweep

FotoForensics http://www.fotoforensics.com

FourMatch http://www.fourandsix.com/fourmatch

Fuskr https://chrome.google.com/webstore

/detail/fuskr/glieaboaghdnlglpkekghloldikefofo

Gbimg.org http://gbimg.org

GeoSetter http://www.geosetter.de

Ghiro http://www.getghiro.org

Google Search “View Image” Button

https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/googlesearch-

view-image/hgngncnljacgakaiifjcgdnknaglfipo

How Old https://how-old.net

Image Edited http://imageedited.com

Image forensic https://www.imageforensic.org

https://www.imageraider.com

Image Search Options https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/imagesearch-

http://reveal-mklab.iti.gr/reveal/index.html

ImgOps http://imgops.com

ImpulseAdventure http://www.impulseadventure.com/photo/jpeg-snoop.html

InVID http://www.invid-project.eu/tools-and-services/invidverification-

plugin

Irfanview http://www.irfanview.com

izitru http://www.izitru.com

Java Exif Viewer https://sourceforge.net/projects/jexifviewer

Jeffrey’s Image Metadata

http://exif.regex.info/exif.cgi

JPEGsnoop https://github.com/ImpulseAdventure/JPEGsnoop

Let’s Enhance https://letsenhance.io

Logos http://logos.iti.gr

metapicz http://metapicz.com/#landing

Photo Detective https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/photo-detectivepro/

id1045128136?mt=8

PhotoMe http://www.photome.de

Pic2Map https://www.pic2map.com

Plaghunter http://www.plaghunter.com

ReadEXIF https://readexifdata.com

Resemble.js https://huddle.github.io/Resemble.js

Reveal Image Verification

Assistant

http://reveal-mklab.iti.gr/reveal/index.html

https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/reveyereverse-

imagesear/

keaaclcjhehbbapnphnmpiklalfhelgf?hl=en

Send to Exif Viewer https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/send-to-exifviewer/

gogiienhpamfmodmlnhdljokkjiapfck?hl=en-US

tawbaware http://www.tawbaware.com

Veracity (iPhone app) https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/veracity-imagesearch/

id870153874?mt=8

Verexif http://www.verexif.com

View Image https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/viewimage/

jpcmhcelnjdmblfmjabdeclccemkghjk

Web Inspector https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/webinspector/

enibedkmbpadhfofcgjcphipflcbpelf?hl=en

Where is the picture? https://whereisthepicture.com

Who Stole My Pictures https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/who-stolemy-

pictures

Adobe Stock https://stock.adobe.com

AlltheFreeStock http://allthefreestock.com

Burst https://burst.shopify.com

CC Search Commons https://ccsearch.creativecommons.org

Clipstill http://www.clipstill.com

Death to Stock http://deathtothestockphoto.com

Epicantus http://epicantus.tumblr.com

Freeimages http://www.freeimages.com

Freestocks.org http://freestocks.org

FoodiesFeed https://www.foodiesfeed.com

Get Refe http://getrefe.tumblr.com

Getty Images https://www.gettyimages.com

Gratisography http://www.gratisography.com

Image Brief http://www.imagebrief.com

IM Free http://www.imcreator.com/free

ISO Republic http://isorepublic.com

iStockphoto http://www.istockphoto.com

Jay mantri http://jaymantri.com

Kaboompics http://kaboompics.com

LibreStock https://librestock.com

Life of Pix http://www.lifeofpix.com

Little Visuals http://littlevisuals.co

MMT https://mmtstock.com

Moose https://photos.icons8.com

Morguefile https://morguefile.com

NegativeSpace http://negativespace.co

New Old Stock http://nos.twnsnd.co

Picjumbo https://picjumbo.com

Picography https://picography.co

Pixabay https://pixabay.com

Pexels https://www.pexels.com

Photobucket http://photobucket.com

Public Domain Archive http://publicdomainarchive.com

reshot https://www.reshot.com

Shot Stash https://shotstash.com

Shutterstock http://www.shutterstock.com

skitterphoto https://skitterphoto.com

SplitShire https://www.splitshire.com

Startup Stock Photos http://startupstockphotos.com

StockSnap https://stocksnap.io

Styled Stock https://styledstock.co

Superfamous http://superfamous.com

tookapic https://stock.tookapic.com

unDraw https://undraw.co

Unplash https://unsplash.com

AddText+ https://addtext.com

Affinity Photo https://affinity.serif.com

Annotable https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/annotable-ultimate-imageannotation/

id1099850421?mt=8

Apple Photos

Aviary

Befunky

Birme

Canva

Croppola

Ezgif.com

FastSTone

FlipA Picture

Fotor

Foto Flexer

Gimp

http://www.apple.com/osx/photos

https://www.aviary.com

https://www.befunky.com

https://birme.net

https://www.canva.com

http://croppola.com

https://ezgif.com

http://www.faststone.org

http://flipapicture.com

http://www.fotor.com

http://fotoflexer.com

http://www.gimp.org

Hugin http://hugin.sourceforge.net

Image Composite Editor https://research.microsoft.com/enus/

um/redmond/projects/ice/

Image Tricks Lite

https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/image-trickslite/

id403735824?mt=12

Irfanview http://www.irfanview.com

LightZone http://lightzoneproject.org

Lunapic http://www124.lunapic.com/editor

OnlineImageSplitter http://www.htmlkit.com/services/is

Paint.NET http://www.getpaint.net/index.html

Photoscape http://www.photoscape.org/ps/main/index.php

Photoshop http://www.photoshop.com

picfull http://www.picfull.com

PicMoneky http://www.picmonkey.com

Pixlr https://pixlr.com

Polarr https://www.polarr.co

Seashore http://seashore.sourceforge.net

Social Image Resizer Tool https://www.internetmarketingninjas.com/seo-tools/favicongenerator-

crop-images

SumoPaint http://www.sumopaint.com

textify http://textify.it

TinyPNG https://tinypng.com

LINKS
LEGAL

THIS SITE IS COPYRIGHTED TO BENTAC AND ANY USE AS A TRAINING AID BY ANOTHER COMPANY INFRINGES THIS

SOCIAL
  • LinkedIn

© TRACETOOLS. Proudly created with Wix.com